Sony KDF-E42A10 TV Fix


Prior to Christmas, my HDTV died. I’d press power, the green light would blink for about 45 seconds, then the TV would turn off. This made me very sad as I had a brand new PS3 to play Ratchet and Clank on. We called TV repair companies and they wanted about $150 to come and take the TV and diagnose it. That money would be credited towards a fix, but they thought a fix could cost somewhere between $300 and $500. I tried to diagnose the blinking light myself, but it didn’t match up with any error codes in the manual.

For about $850 after Christmas, I could upgrade from my 42″ 720p to a 50″ 1080p TV. I was just about to bite the bullet when a friend suggested I just try replacing the bulb. It turns out to be a really common problem for this type of TV and the bulb has an expected life of about 2 years. The symptoms didn’t exactly match what I was seeing, but the bulb is easily accessible and it really is meant to be a end-user repair. Being a little bit of a tightwad, better sense caught up with me and I bought a bulb, specifically a Philips brand Sony KDF-E42A10 KDFE42A10 Lamp with Housing XL2400 for $130. I just got the bulb yesterday and it solved the problem immediately. I’m glad it did, because in the 3 weeks it took to arrive, that $850 TV is now $1300.

I just thought I’d share because I found very few user stories online for the precise symptoms I was having.

~ by shaunkime on January 13, 2010.

One Response to “Sony KDF-E42A10 TV Fix”

  1. Hey Guys.

    If anyone has the red light of death on their PS3, the articles below might help 🙂

    PS3 Yellow Light Fix

    PS3 Red Light Fix

    PS3 Blinking Red Light

    PS3 Red Light Flashing Fix

    PS3 Red Light OF Death

Leave a Reply

 
