Weight Loss


Most people make a New Year’s resolution to lose weight and have a hard time keeping it. I’ve done the same, but I feel that I’m ahead of the game. Last October I started a new regimen designed to help me lose weight and be healthier. It was prompted by my little girl and taking an honest look at my lifestyle and how sustainable it would be. I definitely want to be around to see her in all stages of her life. So here’s what I did:

  • Bought a copy of the Power 90 fitness program. It is 6 days a week for about 30-45 minutes each workout. The workouts are designed to avoid boredom by making you change your workout item every 45 seconds to a minute. I’ve found that the constant change makes it a lot easier to get motivated and not feel bored. The program is meant to take a beginner to good fitness in 90 days. There are 3 DVD’s: a beginner DVD with cardio, ab, and circuit training, an intermediate DVD with a cardio routine, and an advanced DVD with cardio, abs, and circuit training. You alternate every day.
  • Downloaded several iPhone apps to help manage my calorie intake. I finally settled on the Daily Plate / Livestrong application. I chose this app because of the clean design for entering in food and workout items and for its large database of pre-existing food items. Nothing was more annoying than going to a restaurant, surfing the web for their nutrition guide, finding what I wanted, then entering it into the app. That being said, the app could still use a lot of additional crowdsourcing of content. I entered in my information and set the goal of losing 2 lbs per week and its currently suggesting that I consume around 1500 calories per day. That is probably on the borderline of acceptable. I had a friend do the same calcuations and it suggested that she consume around 1000 calories per day, which seems like a starvation diet and horribly unsafe. So I’m not really sure I buy the calore calculations here and have been sticking to around 1800-2000 calories with 30 minutes of exercise, which seems to be doing the job.

Results thus far:
Beginning weight: 220
Current weight: 197
Average calorie loss: 2.3 lbs / week
I haven’t noticed a huge impact in my energy levels or any of the reported benefits of exercise, but I’m happy with losing weight.
I have encountered situations where I seem to plateau for about a week at a time before losing weight again. I’m currently attributing that to fluctuations in diet and muscle-building.

My goal for 2011 is to be around 175 sustainably. This feels pretty achievable and I believe I can do it given my current track record. I may graduate into the older brother of Power 90, P90x. I have friends and family that can’t speak highly enough about it.

~ by shaunkime on January 7, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
