So you think you can dance


So those that have seen me at weddings or at a club know that I love to dance. I really don’t think that I’m any good at all, but I also don’t care. I like to let loose and let the music take over.  However, people keep trying to tell me that I am good. I suspect that people are just humoring me after they hear that I’ve taken hip-hop and salsa lessons.

In any event, I want to share my love for the reality TV show, “So You Think You Can Dance” on Fox. The show really is top notch. They take young, say early twenth-something, aspiring professional dancers, pair them together with some of the hottest choreographers in the business, add a great soundtrack and you get television gold. This isn’t Dancing with the Stars, which has the distasteful ring of celebrity addiction America seems be saddled with. These are hungry, talented dancers vying for a prestigious dance gig. They can really get into some amazing routines and if you aren’t impressed, then you’ve never tried to dance. What really impresses me is when you have a show like tonight where a popper does the samba like he’s been doing it all his life. Telling a great story without saying a word… that’s hot.

Here are some youtube videos from the show and my current favorite couple:

Broadway

Hip-hop

~ by shaunkime on June 26, 2008.

One Response to “So you think you can dance”

  1. I had no idea, Shaun! My wife Renee really likes the show, too. In fact, we are watching it RIGHT NOW. Usually it’s background for me.

    When we got married in 2003, we went through the whole ballroom dancing thing – danced a waltz to Nora Jones’ “Come Away With Me” and it came off great – all except for the slippery (because of evening dew outdoors), tiny (waaaaay smaller than the floor we practiced on) floor.

    Anyway, learned something new about you!

Leave a Reply

 
