And what is it that you do again?


I’ve been in the role of Technical Director of Tools for about six months now and I’m still feeling out my role. Part of the reason for this is that our company is growing rapidly and my new role exists to help ease some of those growing pains. On any given day, here are some of the things that I work on:

  • Mentoring members of my team
  • Planning out features for the current and next releases
  • Writing high-level requirements and designs for current features in development
  • Interacting with the other technical leads at Emergent to make sure that we’re all on the same page regarding feature dependencies and scheduling
  • Performing code reviews on key systems
  • Implementing minor features and using our tools so that I can stay current with the developments in the codebase
  • Resolving any blocking issues encountered in development
  • Interacting with customers and partner technology vendors, either discussing what they’re working on and how we can work together or showing them what we’re up to

My boss once described the job as being “force multiplier” for the engineering team that I’m helping lead. If I had a nutshell description, that would be it. I do whatever is needed to keep my team moving forward, hopefully making their efforts more effective by sharing my experience and channelling their efforts in the right direction.

~ by shaunkime on June 24, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
